Learning Framework

Middle Years Mathematics

Add to Favourites
Mathematics provides the essential numeracy skills that all students will need in their personal, work and civic life, and provides the fundamentals on which mathematical specialties and professional applications of Mathematics are built.

The Mathematics curriculum provides students with essential mathematical skills and knowledge in Number and Algebra, Measurement and Geometry, and Statistics and Probability. The curriculum focuses on developing increasingly sophisticated and refined mathematical understanding, fluency, logical reasoning, analytical thought and problem-solving skills. These capabilities enable students to respond to familiar and unfamiliar situations by employing mathematical strategies to make informed decisions and solve problems efficiently.

Years 7–8

In Years 7–8, students study the Stage 4 Mathematics course. Students are streamed according to their ability level.

Years 9–10

In Year 9, this changes, where three specific course pathways are available to cater more effectively for the full range of learners:

  1. Stage 5.1 is the least challenging within the pathways. It thoroughly reviews content seen in Years 7–8 and also builds on this content.
  2. Stage 5.2 includes and builds on the content of Stage 5.1 and is designed for students who have generally achieved the Stage 4 outcomes by the end of Year 8, or early in Year 9.
  3. Stage 5.3 includes the content for Stage 5.1 and Stage 5.2. The content of Stage 5.3 emphasises the more advanced reasoning and applications of Mathematical concepts.

For students wishing to study Mathematics as an elective in Years 11–12, the expected pathways through the Years 9-10 courses are as follows:

Stage 5.3 Mathematics gives access to:

  • HSC Extension 2 (subject to achievement in Year 11 Extension 1)
  • HSC Extension 1 (subject to achievement in Year 10)HSC Mathematics
  • HSC General Mathematics
  • IB Mathematics Higher Level (subject to achievement in Year 10)
  • IB Mathematics Standard Level (subject to achievement in Year 10)
  • IB Mathematical Studies Standard Level.

Stage 5.2 Mathematics gives access to:

  • HSC Mathematics (subject to achievement in Year 10)
  • HSC General Mathematics
  • IB Mathematical Studies SL.

Stage 5.1 Mathematics gives access to:

  • HSC General Mathematics (subject to achievement in Year 10).

The criteria used by the Mathematics Department in deciding the appropriate pathway for students in Stage 5, is based on their performance in the Stage 4 course.